Friday, February 23, 2024

In collaboration with UI Libraries, Iowa Debate is crafting a visual history commemorating 162 years of women in debate at Iowa, spanning from the establishment of the Erodelphian Literary Society in 1862 to contemporary student triumphs. From being the first women's organization on campus to the pioneering induction of women into the male fraternity of debate, and the triumph of an all-women team as National Champions, this rich history is curated by project leader Ryan Cavanaugh ('04), team Captain, in anticipation of the Council on the Status of Women's 50-year milestone.